Couscous? Nope. Spelt? Nope. If you’re avoiding gluten, we’ve compiled all of the ingredients that don’t belong in foods on your grocery list.
We’ve ditched the white flour in favor of gluten-free whole-grain flours, including brown rice, oat, and teff, a traditional Ethiopian grain that’s high in protein, iron, and calcium.
Find the truth about questions that pique your curiosity in our new series, “The Short Answer.” Nutrition expert Laura Jeffers, MEd, RD, LD, answers this one.
These tasty brownies are made without any flour – so you can eat them even if you are avoiding wheat and/or gluten. The black bean is a surprising ingredient that gives this dessert texture but which doesn’t interfere with the chocolate flavor.
Cleveland Clinic is a non-profit academic medical center. Advertising on our site helps support our mission. We do not endorse non-Cleveland Clinic products or services. Policy
Think holidays or special occasions are a good excuse to ditch a gluten-free diet? Today, gluten-free Thanksgiving meals can be just as tasty as a traditional dinner. All you need is a little advanced planning and the know-how.
Surprising as it sounds, the vast majority of patients with non-specific abdominal pain – such as mild diarrhea or lactose intolerance – do not have celiac disease.
Gluten — a protein naturally found in wheat, rye and barley — lurks in foods and other products you’d never suspect. Get tips from our dietitian on how to avoid gluten and how to make sure your gluten-free diet is truly healthy.
Here is this week’s round-up of stories from around the Web featuring Cleveland Clinic experts that we know you won’t want to miss: Pacemakers for Parkinson’s patients More than 7 million people worldwide can’t button a shirt, drink a cup of coffee or get out of a chair because of Parkinson’s disease. But a little-known surgery can help … Read More
Gluten-free diets are the latest craze for those looking to lose weight, but what’s the truth? Is gluten responsible for my love handles? The answer is no, but let’s clear the air of any confusion. What is gluten and Celiac disease? Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley and countless processed foods including … Read More
There’s good news if you have celiac disease and need to eat gluten-free. The FDA has mandated that any food labeled “gluten-free” has to be exactly that: gluten-free. On August 2, the agency ruled that any food product labeled “no gluten” or “gluten-free” can’t contain more than 20 parts per million of gluten, which is … Read More