May 2, 2023/Digestive

Surprising Foods That Contain Gluten

The protein lurks in ingredients like oats, chips, beer and processed lunch meat

woman checking labels for hidden gluten ingredients

If you have celiac disease, even traces of gluten (a protein found in wheat, barley, rye and sometimes, oats) can wreak havoc on your intestinal tract.

Advertisement

Cleveland Clinic is a non-profit academic medical center. Advertising on our site helps support our mission. We do not endorse non-Cleveland Clinic products or services. Policy

When pain and distress persist despite remaining on guard against gluten at home and in restaurants, you may be overlooking hidden sources of gluten.

Dietitian Anna Taylor, MS, RDN, LD, CDCES, shares what has gluten in it and how you can avoid those sneaky sources of gluten-containing foods.

Foods you may be surprised contain gluten

It can be challenging, and overwhelming, to follow a gluten-free diet and avoid foods that contain gluten. Just when you think you have it all figured out, there are foods and ingredients that sneakily contain the protein. So, what unexpected foods have gluten? Taylor says to watch out for these foods.

Medications and supplements

Gluten may be used as a filler or coating in medications and supplements. Always review the ingredients list on any over-the-counter medications or vitamin/mineral supplements.

Any prescribed medications should be reviewed by a pharmacist to be sure they don’t contain gluten — and find gluten-free substitutes if you have celiac disease.

Research also suggests those with celiac disease have a greater need for nutrients like B vitamins, vitamin D and iron. Confer with your healthcare provider to see if your vitamin needs are being met.

Meat, fish and poultry

Watch for hydrolyzed wheat protein in meat, fish and poultry.

And processed lunch meats and deli meats like cold cuts, hot dogs, salami and sausage may contain gluten. Other foods like self-basting poultry or seasoned turkey breast may contain gluten as well.

Meat and fish substitutes

Watch for gluten in veggie burgers, sausage, bacon and crumbles, along with imitation seafood and seitan.

“Many of these products use fillers that contain gluten, which can act like a glue to hold ingredients together and provide an elastic texture,” explains Taylor.

Chips and fries

Potatoes and corn are naturally gluten-free, but potato chip seasoning may contain malt vinegar and wheat starch.

Also, be aware that tortilla chips and French fries may be fried in the same oil/fryer as foods that contain gluten. This will contaminate the oil and may cause harm to someone with celiac disease.

Look for products that say “gluten-free,” “no gluten,” “free of gluten” or “without gluten,” which are all regulated labeling claims.

Oats

Oats are naturally gluten-free whole grains that contain important vitamins, minerals and fiber. But oats are at high risk for cross-contamination. They’re sometimes grown next to wheat or packaged in facilities that have gluten-containing products.

When shopping, beware of bulk bins. Only choose oats that are labeled “certified gluten-free.”

Beverages and alcohol

Gluten may be in flavored coffees and teas. But what alcohol has gluten in it? Beer, ale, lager and malt beverages all typically contain gluten. Look for specialty gluten-free beer.

Advertisement

Wine is naturally gluten-free. Distilled alcohol (for example, gin and vodka) is considered safe for people with celiac disease.

Eggs at a restaurant

You’re ready to tuck into a hearty breakfast, but before you do, you may want to rethink those scrambled eggs.

Eggs and omelets are typically cooked on the same griddles that are also used to make pancakes, causing cross-contamination.

Gluten-free pizza and baked goods

Even though it may claim to be “gluten-free,” think twice before eating gluten-free pizza or even baked goods.

These may be contaminated by other grains because they’re typically cooked in the same oven as regular gluten-containing pizza.

Sweet treats and snacks

Flavored ice creams (like cookie dough) and gelatos may contain gluten. Look for gluten in candy (especially licorice), energy bars and granola bars, too.

It’s important to read labels every time you purchase an item to verify that all ingredients are gluten-free, as manufacturing practices may change.

Soy sauce and miso

Condiments can be a sneaky source of gluten. For example, soy sauce (except for tamari) is made with wheat. Miso, a soup base, may be made with barley.

Salad fixings

Whether you’re into ranch or Italian dressing, salad dressings may contain gluten. Beware of salad bars or buffets, as cross-contamination is hard to avoid.

If dining out, be sure to ask your server to avoid putting croutons on your salad.

Ezekiel bread

Sure, Ezekiel bread is full of nutrients, but the popular sprouted bread is made from wheat and barley.

“The act of sprouting doesn’t remove the gluten, so this otherwise healthy bread is a no-go for people with celiac disease,” says Taylor.

Soups and gravies

Gluten may be used as a thickener, even in bouillon.

Pay attention to the ingredients in soups like chowders and chilis, and even that turkey gravy you love to ladle over mashed potatoes, as flour can be used as a thickening agent.

Tips for avoiding hidden sources of gluten

Taylor suggests the following to avoid hidden sources of gluten:

  • Know wheat in all of its forms. Wheat berries, semolina, spelt, farina, graham, durum, emmer, faro, Khorasan, udon and einkorn all contain gluten. (Watch for “modified” products, too.)
  • Look out for tricky ingredients. If a product is NOT labeled “gluten-free,” but contains one of these in the ingredients list, don’t buy it: starch, modified food starch, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, hydrolyzed plant protein, textured vegetable protein, dextrin, maltodextrin, glucose syrup, caramel, malt flavoring, malt extract, malt vinegar (distilled vinegar is OK), brown rice syrup.
  • When in doubt, leave it out. If you can’t confirm products are gluten-free, substitute fresh, nutrient-rich whole foods like meat, fish, poultry, beans, nuts, seeds, fruits and vegetables. Choose naturally gluten-free starches like rice, quinoa, corn, buckwheat, potatoes, sorghum and wild rice.
  • Prevent kitchen cross-contamination. Crumbs linger in shared toasters, cutting boards and community peanut butter, jam and cream cheese. Wipe counters regularly and clean gluten-free dishes with a separate sponge. Line baking pans with parchment paper or foil and wrap gluten-free bakery in foil.

Advertisement

Being vigilant when it comes to what you eat — making sure you read labels and look out for cross-contamination — can help you stay healthy and avoid pain and discomfort caused by gluten.

Celiac disease is a lot to manage. Gluten is in a lot of processed foods — and some unprocessed ones as well,” says Taylor.

“Knowing what to look for, reading labels and preventing cross-contamination while following a gluten-free diet is currently the only effective treatment for celiac disease,” she continues. “If you’re struggling, reach out to celiac disease support groups and talk to a dietitian from your healthcare team. You aren’t alone.”

Advertisement

Learn more about our editorial process.

Related Articles

Cajun sweet potato fry wedges
May 23, 2024/Recipes
Recipe: Baked Cajun Sweet Potato Fries

Swap regular fries for these delicious, and nutritious, potato wedges

Shirataki Miracle noodles on chopsticks and in red bowl
May 20, 2024/Nutrition
4 Reasons To Give Shirataki (Miracle) Noodles a Try

Fiber-rich shirataki noodles may improve blood sugar, aid in digestion and help with weight loss

Assorted healthy foods spread out over a table and cutting boards
May 20, 2024/Digestive
What To Eat When You Have Diverticular Disease

Reducing inflammation is key when you’re in a flare-up, but so is having a preventive nutritional plan in place when you’re not

Healthcare provider talking with patient with overweight in office
May 17, 2024/Weight Loss
The HCG Diet Is Ineffective and Unsafe

The U.S. FDA prohibits HCG use without a prescription — and the hormone isn’t approved for weight loss at all

Bowl of white konjac noodles in wooden bowl
May 15, 2024/Nutrition
5 Ways Konjac Can Help Boost Your Health

The glucomannan fiber in konjac can be good for your digestion, heart, weight loss and more

Field of barley
May 13, 2024/Nutrition
Bank on Barley for a Health Boost

Eating this grain could help keep tabs on your appetite and protect against diabetes and cancer

Bowl of partially peeled tamarind
May 8, 2024/Nutrition
5 Reasons To Try Tamarind

With a sweet, tangy flavor, this tropical fruit is super versatile and high in antioxidants

Mason jar filled with water and raisins
May 7, 2024/Nutrition
Is Raisin Water Really All That Beneficial?

Raisins have a number of health benefits when eaten — but raisin water probably won’t do much for you

Trending Topics

Person in yellow tshirt and blue jeans relaxing on green couch in living room reading texts on their phone.
Here’s How Many Calories You Naturally Burn in a Day

Your metabolism may torch 1,300 to 2,000 calories daily with no activity

woman snacking on raisins and nuts
52 Foods High In Iron

Pump up your iron intake with foods like tuna, tofu and turkey

Ad