24 Ingredients to Avoid if You’re Living Gluten-Free

An easy check for all of the items in your shopping cart

You know wheat toast is off the breakfast menu now that you’re living life sans gluten. But what about rye and panko? Here Cleveland Clinic dietitian Anna Taylor, MS, RD, LD, points out what words to look for on your food labels if you’re gluten-free.

Advertising Policy

Cleveland Clinic is a non-profit academic medical center. Advertising on our site helps support our mission. We do not endorse non-Cleveland Clinic products or services. Policy

And keep in mind that there’s also a list of “questionable” ingredients that shouldn’t be consumed unless you can verify they don’t contain (or aren’t derived from) gluten-containing grains.

Double check your brown rice syrup, flour or cereal products, hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP), hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP) textured vegetable protein (TVP), malt vinegar (distilled vinegar is ok), modified food starch, rice malt, seasonings or “natural flavors,” soy sauce, soy sauce solids or teriyaki sauce.


Advertising Policy